New to Vaping. Charging questions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

katerinaedwards

May 16, 2017
I just started vaping literally yesterday so i'm a super noob. I have a smok v8 stick baby. It says it has a V8 2000 battery. It came with a USB cable that I plugged into my iPhone block to charge from a wall outlet. It's been charging for about 3 hours and the red light is still on. Should it take this long? Is it ok to use the iPhone block, if not what should I use? Also, can you vape while charging? Does it have to be fully charged before I can take it off charge? Can you charge it before its completely dead?

Thanks so much!!!

DavidOck

ECF Guru
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Jan 3, 2013
Halfway to Paradise, WA
Don't have that device, but in general... do NOT vape while charging unless the device manual specifically says that you can. Catastrophic failure to the device, the charger and perhaps your body are distinctly possible.

3 hours or more for a deeply discharged 2000 mAh battery isn't unusual, especially if using USB computer ports. Most are limited to 0.5 amp charging, although that's beginning to change. Many do charge from a computer port, but a failure of the battery may cause a failure of the computer USB port, or worse. Better to use the block in the wall, as you've done. :thumb: Any USB wall wart (block) will be 5 VDC output, so no problems there. Look at the output current rating. It needs to be at least 500 mA (0.5 amp), 1000 is better, since the charge circuit in the battery case will only draw what it needs.

You can take it off charge and use it at any time, it doesn't have to be fully charged. And you can put it on charge at any time. Actually, before it's fully dead will yield a longer service life.

And welcome to ECF!

Imfallen_Angel

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 10, 2016
Ottawa area, Canada
Hi. If you check my blog I have a section about batteries and charging that should assist you.