New to vaping...why so many metal options for coils?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dropmyload

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 23, 2017
Thanks for the add, I'm new to vaping, trying to stop smoking. Have been vaping for about 2 weeks now.

My kit is a Kanger Subvod and I've really only tried tobacco flavours so far...American Patriots and Euro Gold from Naked 100 e juice.

I bought an Ijoy Captain 270 and a Tobeco Super Tank 25mm as my new kit and waiting for shipment.

Still trying to figure out what the difference between stainless steel, kanthal and nickel coils are....

Thanks for the add, I'm new to vaping, trying to stop smoking. Have been vaping for about 2 weeks now.

My kit is a Kanger Subvod and I've really only tried tobacco flavours so far...American Patriots and Euro Gold from Naked 100 e juice.

I bought an Ijoy Captain 270 and a Tobeco Super Tank 25mm as my new kit and waiting for shipment.

Still trying to figure out what the difference between stainless steel, kanthal and nickel coils are....
They are just different types of metal. Some metals allow for TC, they have different resistances, ramp up times etc. I personally prefer Nichrome 80 (I build my own coils), but you'll find what you like in time. I wouldn't fret about it until you get into building.

This should help: 5 Types Of Wires Used For Vaping

lupinehorror

bròn
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 11, 2017
Dunblane
coil building is good on many levels. not long started winding them...began (as i think most do) with kanthal but recently did a few stainless steel numbers and am messing with TC.
and yes, the captain is a nice mod.
welcome to the forums.

Topwater Elvis

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Dec 26, 2012
Texas
Ni & Ti coils are for temp control use only.
NiCr is most often used in watt/power mode, a few power devices claim to be able to temp control NiCr.
SS can be used in watt or temp control mode.