Newbie RBA/Fogger Help Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

jackmormon

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 27, 2013
1st post. Been lurking for quite awhile and trying a bunch of things to find what I like. Am in love with the rebuildable dripping atomizers. The day I setup an Igo-L with a micro coil and cotton was the last day I smoked analogs. Two weeks today. Also have a smoktek RDA and a Phoenix and all are easy to build with a freehand coil and silica or a micro coil and cotton.

Just received one of those Fogger tanks from vaportekusa. Looks nice and my 1st rebuildable tank. (Probably 1st attempt!)

A couple of questions:

1) It came installed with a stainless steel wick and coil. I have zero experience with stainless steel wicks. When I read the resistance of the coil from the posts, it reads 1.7. If I try to read from the base it jumps in the 8.x - 9.x range. Checking resistance on a vamo shows 9.9 and the SVD won't read it. Does this sound like something shorting out with the mesh or is the base bad? Not sure what to think when it reads correctly from the posts.

2) There is something that looks like a serious design flaw, but maybe it is just my newbieness. I couldn't get a decent picture to show this but right above the SS wick there is a very thin (.25mm?) o ring at the top of the part that screws into the center base. This o ring is approximately .5 mm from the SS wick and maybe 1.5mm from the edge of the coil. I am guessing the o ring is silicone but it really looks like it is going to melt and/or deform. (In the user manual for the Taifun GT there is no such o-ring. The two units look pretty close except for this detail.)

Any help/advice from the more experienced is much appreciated!

Renzuli

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 27, 2011
North Las Vegas