Nicotine/Cotinine test for employment

Status
Not open for further replies.

NightNurse

ECF Veteran
Jan 17, 2010
SE Michigan
I have to take one of these tests as part of a pre-employment physical. I'm assuming that they are going to test my urine for cotinine. If I fail, they will rescind my job offer. I've been searching the internet and these threads for anyone else's (especially vapers) experience with this test, how long they prepared for it, how they prepared for it, and if they passed/failed. I haven't been able to find much.

I don't want to get into a political/ethical debate over the use of these tests by employers (I think it sucks and I'll leave it at that), I'm looking for info.. and maybe some peace of mind. I really want this job, and I'm stressing out about this test.

I've been vaping exclusively for about four years. No analogs. 24mg liquid, all day, every day. I mostly stopped vaping on Thursday.. mostly, because I was really going thru withdrawls and had a few puffs over the course of the day. Then I went most of Friday without vaping, but caved in later that afternoon and had a few puffs. That evening, I went and bought some 0mg juice so I'd have something to vape. So, basically, I've been nic-free since Friday evening and my test is this Friday (2/28) which means I'll have a solid 6 days of no nicotine when I go in for my test. According to the half-life of cotinine, I should be ok.. but still, I stress.

I've been drinking water and green tea, and plan to keep doing so.

I don't want to use fake urine, or someone else's pee (ew) to beat the test.

Is there anyone here that's taken the test and passed (or failed)? I'd like to hear your experience. And I promise to return to update everyone on what happens with my test. There's nothing more frustrating that reading one of these threads for pages and pages, only to have the OP disappear and not let everyone know what happened. I won't do that :)

Thanks!

DC2

Tootie Puffer
ECF Veteran