No Problems....But!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Morris65

Oct 29, 2013
Arlington, VA
A few months ago I bought ten batteries (10 Pcs Neutral 18650 3.7V-4.2V 5000mAh Rechargeable Lithium Battery) for $16.01. I've since read an EFC guide to batteries and realize that these are not recommended. I've been using five of them in a few mods and have had no trouble that I could see. I've been vaping for over two years but am relatively new to mods and rechargeables so I can't yet make an intelligent comparison to a really good battery like Pansonic and such. They are remarkably inexpensive (cheap) and I haven't blown up half my house (so far). Also, I am about to learn and work with rebuildables so any advice (warnings?) would be appreciated.

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
You need to identify the batteries that you have to see if they are safe to use in a mod. My guess, at that price, you got generic ICR batteries. If you can not identify their manufacturer they can not be considered safe. Hopefully they are the protected variety, as unprotected ICR batteries should never be used in a mod. Just because you haven't had a problem yet just means you've been lucky so far. As batteries are used and age, they become more likely to have issues such as shorting out and going into thermal runaway.

Batteries are not created equal in the battery manufacturing plants. Generic batteries are often the rejects of the better battery companies. Or they are harvested used batteries from old laptop computers, re-wrapped and sold as new. Either way, these are not the batteries you want in your mods so close to your face or hands.