Ohms Law Calculator - Offline Application for Windows/Mac

Status
Not open for further replies.

mar10

Sep 14, 2012
AZ, USA
If this is against the rules, if a mod could let me know I would appreciate it!

Hello ECF users!

I know many sites exist which are specific to building coils, and determining target ohm ranges etc... but I wanted to create my own application that would work if you did not have internet.

About me:
I live in an apartment complex that often has internet issues. So since I started building my own coils, I decided to create an offline Ohms Law calculator in Java. It is a very small program that took me just a short days work to create. I am a college student learning programming and thought it would be fun to practice and make applications that may be useful to others.

Potential Phone app Logo:

OhmsLawLarge.jpg
Screenshot:
[v1]Screenshot.jpg

What is it?

-It's a very simple applet that will work on Windows or Mac, because it is a .jar file.
-Calculates Volts, Amps, Ohms, Power using two known variables to figure out the unknown.

Why is this different from other tools already available online?
-Mainly, it will work if you don't have an internet connection.
-With your feedback, we can turn this into something more unique and even more useful

If anyone is looking at this saying "Oh, well I already use x program or x website to figure that out, I don't need this!" please at least consider helping me out, If you could download it and post any bugs or suggestions you may have as well as what type of operating system you are running, I would greatly appreciate the feedback!

If there are features you want, again, please let me know. If there is enough interest, I will turn this into a larger application that could potentially house features like... DIY Juice calculations, Coil wrapping targets, battery drain statistical analysis/calculations, etc.