Phlegm in lungs after 3 years of vaping

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chronos

Oct 8, 2017
Hello,

I smoked cigarettes about 2 years, then I switched and to this day I have been vaping since about 3 years. I vape a very basic apple 12mg/ml PG 70%, VG 30% E-Liquid.

Since half a year I gradually coughed up phlegm more and more. First it was just to clear my throat during the day. Then it started to become bad in the mornings after sleep. I drink a lot of water to help get all the phlegm out. It is clear. I do not have a cold or the flu.

I do think the E-liquid/vaping is the problem as I did a test where I vaped way less than usual one day, and the next morning I woke up with almost no phlegm to cough out.

I will try out a change in PG/VG ratio and a flavourless E-liquid before I start reducing nicotine and frequency of vaping to eventually quit alltogether as I view this phlegm issue as not good at all.

I don't feel it will be helpful going to a doctor about this as I noticed most do not know enough about e-cigarettes. I did get a lung test done, where you exhale in a tube thing and the results came back perfectly fine.

Does anyone else have issues with a lot of phlegm after years of vaping?

Thank you a lot and greetings from Germany

r77r7r

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
  • Feb 15, 2011
    Pa,LandOfTaxes
    Welcome to the board. If cool breeze is correct, maybe pop some antihistamines for a few days and see if that works.

I've been vaping several yrs and moved to 50-50 after 70-30 and don't really notice anything. A fair amt of nose blowing most mornings, but sometimes nothing at all. Only the occasional cough. Unflavored here, but not sure that it makes a diff in this area.

Reactions: Simmonsd515

Chronos

Oct 8, 2017
    Thanks a lot for your answers!

@Cool_Breeze