Plastic taste after changing coils and cleaning

Status
Not open for further replies.

MoeZ

Sep 25, 2018
I have a smok Stick m17 that I've been using for 3 months and have been pretty happy with, but for some reason it started giving off a horrible plastic taste. At first I thought it was just the atomizer, but after changing it out for a new one (yes I prepped it first) the taste is still there. I took apart the tank and cleaned it with rubbing alcohol, rinsed with water and let it air dry. I've tried using a different e liquid than the one I was using (I thought it could be due to the plastic bottle and switched to a juice that was in a glass bottle) but the flavor is still there. The only o-ring that is removable seems to be fine but I suppose that could be the issue? Unfortunately I don't have a spare one to replace it with as of now. Has anyone ever had this problem and figured out what it was?

Reactions: Bradder

tailland

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Aug 11, 2018
Germany
There aren't many parts in an atomizer which (a) are reached by intense heat and (b) taste like plastic if heated. I'd check 2 parts: The o-ring on the chimney above the coil, and the insulator at the bottom of the coil. Take a good look at them, maybe one of them has been burnt, is dissolving, whatever...and ofc check the cotton in the coil as well. Maybe the cotton is low quality and you smoked it.

MoeZ

Sep 25, 2018
There aren't many parts in an atomizer which (a) are reached by intense heat and (b) taste like plastic if heated. I'd check 2 parts: The o-ring on the chimney above the coil, and the insulator at the bottom of the coil. Take a good look at them, maybe one of them has been burnt, is dissolving, whatever...and ofc check the cotton in the coil as well. Maybe the cotton is low quality and you smoked it.