Pre-made coils legs facing the same way

Status
Not open for further replies.

chellie

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Oct 24, 2014
USA
Have a Kanger Toptank Mini and just started making my own coils. I'm still learning but so far so good. I'm sure I will improve with time.

I have a bunch of premade coils (24 gauge) but I just noticed that the legs are both facing the same way. Tried to make each leg go the opposite way and the wire then ends up having a bend in it.

Is there a way to fix this or should I just chuck the premade ones?

Reactions: stols001

chellie

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Oct 24, 2014
USA
Put a screw driver or coil post the size of the inner core of the coil thru them and use a pair of needle nose pliers to pull one leg straight across and unwrap it until they are opposite
Thanks. Just saw this answer. I was trying to pull it but not with pliers so I will give that a go. Thx

zoiDman

My -0^10 = Nothing at All*
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 16, 2010
So-Cal
Have a Kanger Toptank Mini and just started making my own coils. I'm still learning but so far so good. I'm sure I will improve with time.

I have a bunch of premade coils (24 gauge) but I just noticed that the legs are both facing the same way. Tried to make each leg go the opposite way and the wire then ends up having a bend in it.

Is there a way to fix this or should I just chuck the premade ones?

It might be Easier instead of Unwrapping the Coil by a 1/2 Turn, to Warp it the additional 1/2 Turn.

chellie

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Oct 24, 2014
USA
To get them to face the opposite way you have to unroll them a bit. Do you have a mandrel that will fit inside them?
Had to look up mandrel :) ---no but I have a coil stick thingy that I could put the coil on and maybe slowly unroll. Got a few ideas here. I bought the premades to make life easier while I learn but so far I have been making my own because I've been mangling the premades .....

Beamslider

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member