The costs of running this huge site are paid for by ads. Please consider registering and becoming a Supporting Member for an ad-free experience. Thanks, ECF team.

Question about fiddling my thingie...

Discussion in 'IBTanked' started by Anarchy84, Jun 23, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Image has been removed.
URL has been removed.
Email address has been removed.
Media has been removed.
  1. Anarchy84

Anarchy84 Super Member

Jun 4, 2014
    Milwaukee, WI
    I have two different IBTanked setups - one 19mm and one 22mm. For several months I was an absolute pro at 'fiddling my thingie' to prime cartos, but two out of the last three cartos I've primed this way ended up hopelessly flooded. Tried blowing out excess liquid numerous times but after a few draws it would be flooded again. Not sure why I'm having issues after doing this successfully a dozen or so times, but I have a question:

How do I know when to stop fiddling my thingie to avoid flooding? It seems to me that there's no golden number of times to fiddle before it's primed. I usually fiddle until I see a tiny drop of e-liquid come out of the 510 connector resting in the bottom of the thingie. Sometimes that happens after screwing the lid on 6 times, other times it happens after screwing it on 9 or 10 times. When should I stop to make sure it's perfectly primed but NOT flooded?

Also, do you recommend pausing between fiddles to let the e-liquid absorb, or do you fiddle continuously?

FYI I'm using dual punch Boge cartos (LR and SR) with 100% VG liquid that has been thinned for use in a tank. Same cartos / e-liquid I've successfully fiddled numerous times before.

2. daleron

daleron ECF Guru - TWR Co-Mod Verified Member ECF Veteran

Apr 16, 2013
    Arkansas, USA
    Maybe bad carto's?
    Try putting your tank in the thingy the other way (up-side down) so you can see the filler through the bottom and you'll know better when you reach that magic moment. :)