Really harsh throat hit and bad taste even on low wattage...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Serpico_Beard

Jul 3, 2017
Hi, i just joined the forum because i couldn't find any help with this anywhere.
I've been using the same e cig for about 6 months now (cool fire 4) and a liquid which is 70 vg/30 pg without any problems but lately it's been really harsh to vape with even on a low wattage and if i change the coil it's nice and smooth for a day or 2 and then becomes really harsh again. Is it the coil? The liquid? It's really annoying me because i've never had any problems with this set up before.
I asked for advice in my regular vaping shop and the woman working there had no clue at all.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

(EDIT - Sorry i forgot to mention that i switched from a 50/50 mix to a 70/30 although i didn't think that would be the cause of the harshness).

Last edited:

Serpico_Beard

Jul 3, 2017
It sounds like it may be your ejuice since you say it's fine with a fresh coil. Juices that are sweet will gunk a coil pretty fast. I use a couple sweet juices and if I didn't build my own coil I'd be going through a coil every other day.
Ok cool thanks for replying.
I got some new juice today which is a 50/50 mix and i put a new coil in as well. Hopefully it'll be alright now because i've thrown away 4 or 5 coils over the last week because the hit was so harsh i couldn't even vape anymore.

Izan

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Jul 1, 2012
Mallorca, Spain
Hi and welcome.
This is a Cool fire IV:
cool-fire-4-1.jpg

What voltage/wattage are you using?
What tank are you using? Make/model?
Which coil are you using? (Ω?)
Is it a new batch of juice? New pack of coils?
What changed?

Cheers
I

Serpico_Beard

Jul 3, 2017
You'll have to excuse me i'm not an expert at all, i was using a rubbish ego cig for a long time before a friend got me the Cool fire 4 for Christmas.
The only thing which has changed is i was using 50/50 mix and it went to a 70/30.