So why is mixing by weight better than mixing by volume?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ed Brown

ECF Veteran
Sep 29, 2019
North-Central PA (flyover country)
I've been mixing liquid for close to a year now and have been mixing by volume, with various graduated cylinders, and recently, syringes for the small measurements.

Full disclosure: I'm a water/wastewater engineer and calculate feed rates, dilutions, volumes, and weights all day long, using metric and English units. I can figure out how many liters/hour of a chemical of a given concentration must be added to treat a stream of millions of gallons/day of water to achieve the required final concentration. Calculations with water based systems are convenient because one liter of water has a mass of one kg. Certain shortcuts can be employed due to this fact. Not so fast with English units.

We buy nicotine liquid that is measured in mg/ml (mass/volume) of solution, not mg/kg (commonly called % by weight) of solution. The final product is also expressed in mg/ml (mass/volume) not mg/kg of solution. As long as the total mg of nicotine is properly measured and calculated, and the total volume of product is properly measured and calculated, the results are perfectly accurate (at least in the spreadsheet).

The only aspect where % by weight would be useful would be in calculating VG/PG ratio. Since the specific gravity of VG and PG are pretty close, the results of a volumetric calculation seem close enough. Who really cares whether the VG/PG ratio is 75/25 or 75.3/24.7? Measuring by weight, and making the conversions just seems like so much mental masturb@tion.