Stacked 18350 in Vamo - Voltage Regulation Method? Provari-like Vape?

Status
Not open for further replies.

c00lkatz

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 10, 2011
Dallas, TX
To start off, I am no electronics engineer, just someone asking a question. If any of this sounds dumb, then please correct me or lead me in the right direction.

Okay, so I've been doing some research as to what makes the Provari's power regulation so great compared to cheaper regulated mods. I do not own a Provari, but I do own a Vamo and eVic. Please note, this has nothing to do with build quality, but with the voltage regulation circuitry and how it affects vape quality.

I've read the Provari on an Oscope thread, and how the Provari regulates voltage versus a Vamo. The Vamo shoots up to 6V and then varies the duration of the pulse to achieve a particular voltage, whereas the Provari boosts voltage and then regulates it at a much finer rate resulting in a much flatter line.

According to this post here on another forum, you can achieve a similar effect by stacking two 3.7V batteries and then regulating down to the desired voltage. According to that poster, there would be no difference between this and a Provari.

Which got me wondering, how DOES the Vamo regulate voltage with stacked batteries in series totaling 7.4/8.4V (off full charge) versus its normal method with a single 3.7/4.2V battery? Does it simply take that higher voltage and then regulate it down? Does it have a separate circuit that it switches to when it senses the increase in voltage?