Stealth Vaping

Status
Not open for further replies.

NuMoNiC

ECF Veteran
Apr 28, 2010
SLC
I see many people post that one of their favorite things to do is to “Stealth vape”. I agree, this is awesome, but I have a few questions for you more seasoned vapers.
I have a decent sized office in my building. I don’t share it with anyone, but people are constantly walking by my door. I think they would freak if I freely vaped, but stealth is a total option. My only concern is that can they smell it?
Are they any risk of setting off fire or carbon monoxide detectors in the office or hotel rooms? Most hotels and rental car places will charge you a huge fine now if they think you have smoked, etc. in their property. – I travel for work a lot!!
Sorry I am still new at this and learning. Thanks for the info all!!

the_antisheep

ECF Veteran
Apr 23, 2010
CO
There's no unnatural CO2 emissions from the device (it's not a product of vaping), so unless your exhales are producing extraordinary amounts of hot air, I wouldn't worry too much about the alarms. The smell of these things is negligible (no one will notice it due to that). I have heard, however, that they will set off the fire alarms in aircraft bathrooms... Why? Good question... I'll leave that one to the experts.

schaedj

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 2, 2009
The 'Burgh
Most "traditional juices don't smell enough for people to notice. If you use a fruit or spice flavored juice, there is a little bit of air freshener scent to the air. If you do DIY and strengthen the flavor, it becomes more obvious, but people in my office don't mind the smell.
I have never set off a smoke detector, although the particulates in the vapor are capable of doing it. In a hotel room, there is plenty of air circulation for the vapor to dissipate. If you did set one off for some reason, you could always say you were spraying an air freshener...