Subtank mini RBA muted flavor

Status
Not open for further replies.

happytree

Nov 19, 2015
Hi guys,
I'm relatively new to vaping, so I'm not very knowledgeable about all the new stuff out there. I currently have a kanger subtank mini with an IPV D2 mod. Yesterday, i was running a 27g 0.7 ohm coil, great flavor, lasted me for about 4 days (I like to change coils at least once or twice a week, dry burn them after every tank). Then yesterday noon, I realized my coil was getting some burnt taste, so I changed the cotton and the coil. Got a 28g, 5 wraps, 0.8 ohm coil.

Using the exact same juice in the same tank, the flavor just got muted. I'm vaping a local juice, supposedly fanta grape flavor. The flavor got muted in a sense that it's just minty, the grape flavor is not nearly as intense. I tried it with other juices, changed cotton, change coil, the results are the same. I went to my local vape shop, two other guys working in the shop noticed the muted flavor as well. Changed to use their coil, use their cotton, use their mods, change flavors, all the same, the flavor is just not as intense as before. They couldn't figure out why, and I'm pretty sure all three of us didn't just happen to get vapor's tongue at the same time. The only thing I haven't tried is using a new subtank mini to test the flavor to compare, but I'm currently broke and don't have the money to buy a new tank.

If you guys have any idea what's going on with my tank, please do tell, I'm worried I have to buy a new tank.

Marc411

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 17, 2014
Windy City
The Subtank is a great tank for the price, I have several.

Did you lift your coil the same distance of the deck as you did with the previous build? If the coil is to close to the airhole/deck you'll get muted flavor. Get it about 2mm/2.5mm off the deck and I would be willing to bet your flavor improves.

I hope this works for you!

Reactions: MMW

happytree

Nov 19, 2015