The ABCs of batteries

Status
Not open for further replies.

mogur

ECF Veteran
Apr 24, 2009
Whidbey Island, WA
Nobody asked me these questions, but I feel the need to answer them anyway. I am certainly no expert, and have learned a considerable portion of what I know about batteries in just the last few weeks, and in no small part due the information in this forum, shared by the experts here. Since I have some electronics background and couldn't easily find some of the pertinent information related to modding ecigs, I hope to enlarge our knowledge base a bit, and cure insomnia at the same time.

How safe are lithium ion cells?

The potential for injury and considerable property damage is definitely a concern. One of our members just experienced an explosive fire in his back seat from a lithium. There's videos of exploding lithium batteries all over You Tube, and seemingly endless recalls of laptop batteries. But, before you go throwing your ecig in the ocean (wouldn't help, anyway, lithium ignites in water), I advise a longer perspective. Despite the media frenzy, I have only heard of one injury. An early cell phone battery burned the face of a man. Commercial ecigs are relatively safe if used normally. They incorporate a micro chip that prevents both over-discharge rates and under-voltage conditions of the battery. Their chargers (usually) prevent overcharging and subsequent thermal runaway. However, electronics can fail so the most frequent battery castastrophes occur while charging. DO NOT stick your charger on a window sill, on carpeting, or near any other flammable materials (especially curtains), just because it is near the most convenient outlet. Find a spot on a flame resistant counter (kitchen, bath) and don't leave the house or leave it charging overnight.