The ohm difference between 30 and 34 gauge Kanthal..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zeybrin

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 4, 2010
Ft. Gibson
is ASTOUNDING!

On the 30 gauge i literally had to wrap it 12-13 times to get an ohm of 2.2-2.4 (Don't ask me how I fit that on my half inch wick space on the bliSS lol) ... 6 wraps of 34 gave me an ohm of 4... FOUR! Yes I am a noob... lol But hey.. took one wrap off and got me a perfect 3 ohm coil. (unbroken in) Which is kinda where I wanted to be anyway on my V1 Provari.

Zeybrin

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 4, 2010
Ft. Gibson
I got my wire from ebay. 10 bucks for 100 ft and free shipping. Here.

Edit: I thought twisting your wire cause a large drop in ohms? Not an increase... At least that's what I read in a thread where someone was getting too high of an ohm coil... People were suggesting twisting it to reduce the ohms.

Last edited:

EDO

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 15, 2009
Total length of the wire used should increase the ohms

So you could use more wire in a twist, effectively raising the ohms, or use a larger wick which would use longer wire as well.

What??? You're not increasing the length of the wire when you twist two wires together....you are in fact increasing the thickness of the wire...lowering the ohms. Twisting two 30g wires will make them perform like a 28g wire...5 wraps of that won't even get you 1 ohm.

EDO

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 15, 2009
check out the peter k drill bit method for wrapping coils. i use 30g kanthal and come out at about 2.3ohms. and it is almost fool proof. almost never have to adjust more then a poke or two.

but 34 should def give you higher ohms per same wraps.