Thoughts on generic non-Joyetech ego batteries?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lois2013

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 7, 2013
Pittsburgh, PA
I'm looking to get a VV battery, and I found a website that has 900 mAh twist egos on sale, but there is this big disclaimer saying "these are NOT genuine Joyetech products, etc etc" and has all this stuff about batteries possibly catching fire while charging and that they're not responsible...

I thought I read somewhere about knock off ego batteries having problems that were giving e-cigs a bad rap, but it wasn't too much info so I wasn't sure if that was a particular type or whatnot.

I'm new to vaping and have been using a Halo Triton exclusively, so I'm not too familiar with the differences in hardware. What do you know about generic ego batts? Thanks in advance!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

djsvapour

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Oct 2, 2012
England and Wales
Speaking personally, I would not buy a cheap clone Twist.

I was looking at getting some direct from China at $12. Original branded VV here, $24.

For $12 more I'll go with branded. Mine last 6 months or more - $2 a month for peace of mind.

- - -

The thing that annoys me the most is here (UK) on ebay and internet vendors is that they make more money on copies by pricing them just under the genuine article. For example clone VV £17.50 real Joyetech or Vision £20.00. Not going to be worth it, surely.

pmcode

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 22, 2013
Barstow, CA
The funniest thing about that is that Joyetech is actually NOT the creator of the eGo battery. So, they are actually a clone themselves...
Now, I understand and use primarily Joye branded stuff, as I have never had a problem with them (3 regulars, 6 twists, even an eVic -only one (for now <grin>)).