Vaping Etiquette

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoyousOne

Jan 19, 2010
Saginaw, MI
Ok - so you can't smoke anywhere anymore. I am new to e-cigs and am wondering what rules of etiquette to follow. Should I head outside to the smoking area or bust out the e-cig in my office? What about in public? The local pub? Are any of you finding that people look down on you when you vape in public as they did when you smoked? Or are people generally cool about it?

OMB

ECF Veteran
Dec 9, 2009
Western NC
I think the overall response will be to treat vaping like smoking. From a distance, someone will believe you are smoking...it gives the appearance of smoking. Or...ask (and explain e-cigs) just to be safe from busy bodies. Look in the forum here:
E-Cigarettes in Public - E-Cigarette Forum
There are many ways to handle just what you are asking about. Good Luck!
OMB

nerojrnde

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 14, 2010
Elk Grove, CA
I tend to use smoke pits. The issue with public places is that people are not that educated on e-cigs. It is hard for someone to see "smoke" and not think anything can be taken in second hand.

If you work in an office, ask your supervisor or boss about it. I would not disclose the fact that there is nic because they might think that can be inhaled second hand.

SmilingSlasher

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 9, 2009
NC
Nero is right that people are not that educated on e-cigs, but I feel it is all of our responsibilities to help educate the public.

The world we live in is not as "cut and dry" as it once was. People see the vapor and think it is smoke. So I explain it like this.....