Vaping masters, Please HELP with constant BURNT/DRY Hits!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

LVixen

Verified Member
Jul 5, 2015
Hello everyone!

I'm hoping someone can help me figure out what I'm doing wrong in this situation because I'm at my wits end!!

I'm brand new to vaping (and dripping) and just started to build my own coils. I've been using steam-engine for all the calculations and to make sure I'm vaping safely. Wrapping the builds hasn't been as complicated as I thought it might be, but wicking???? It's freakin' kicking my {Moderated}! At least I THINK the problem is with my wicking because I've actually built higher and lower resistance wraps, with different inner diameters to see if it would solve the BURNT/DRY HIT problem but it has made no difference at all.

I've googled, researched, read, watched a ton of youTube videos on wicking and it looks so simple! Which it is, because I follow the instructions to the letter and when I'm done wicking, everything looks beyootiful and exactly like what I've seen in the tutorials, but as soon as I fire it up, I get a burnt/dry hit either on the very first hit or the second for sure!:-x
The RDA housing also gets VERY hot to the touch (but not hot vapor).

Here's the material/equipment I've been working with:

Wick: Japanese cotton pads
Wire: only have 24g Kanthal
Juice: Max VG juices, mostly >90% VG (Virgin Vapor, Velvet Cloud, etc)
Builds (all dual coils):
  • tried a 0.4 ohm (10 wraps around 2.4mm drill bit)
  • also tried a 0.3 ohm with a larger inner diameter (6 wraps around 3.0mm drill bit)
  • and even larger ID (6 wraps around 5/32" drill bit) for .35 ohms
  • also tried a 0.2 ohm spaced coil (4 wraps around 3.0mm drill bit)
Atty: Plume Veil 2.5
Mod: 18650 Mech Mod (Copper Limitless Mod) or iPV3 Li mod box
Batteries : Sony VCT4s