The costs of running this huge site are paid for by ads. Please consider registering and becoming a Supporting Member for an ad-free experience. Thanks, ECF team.

Vendor hacked? Be careful with cc

Discussion in 'General Vaping Discussion' started by Bostonsnboxers, Jan 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Image has been removed.
URL has been removed.
Email address has been removed.
Media has been removed.
  1. Bostonsnboxers

Bostonsnboxers Ultra Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

Nov 9, 2011
    NW OH, US
    I hope the title gets the attention of most w/o being melodramatic. I have a cc that I use strictly for grocery shopping (Kroger), Amazon shopping and purchasing my ecig supplies. No one else but my husband has access to this card, and I am not a newbie with computers..I do not have a virus, nor have I fallen prey to phishing.

Yesterday it came to my attention that someone living in another state attempted to place an online order using my cc (my billing address, phone#, etc) for over $350 worth of merchandise from a 'surf shop'. I have spent hundreds in the last 2 months on ecig/diy supplies from ECF approved vendors only, and believe that one of their sites has been hacked. I am NOT accusing anyone, nor will I name any of the multiple vendors that I've given my info to on this board OR through pm, so please don't ask. It could happen to the most honest of vendors..

This has been taken care of..cc cancelled and new one received express mail this morning, but I urge you ALL to keep an eye out on your statements for suspisious activity. I had alerts set up to email me with each online/phone transaction but they still managed to sneak one transaction by.

Be careful, and diligent! :)

2. washvap

washvap Vaping Master ECF Veteran

Apr 2, 2011
    wa
    Thanks for the notice. It's something we should all be careful about.

3. markfm

markfm Aussie Pup Wrangler Verified Member ECF Veteran

Supporting member