VV Berserker vs. SM Kayfun Prime

Status
Not open for further replies.

VictorC

ECF Veteran
Jan 26, 2015
Toronto, Ontario
Here it goes, my very subjective assessment of two new MTL tanks, Berserker (with supplied 4.5 ml tank) and Kayfun Prime (with optional 4.5ml tank). Same coil (round Kanthal, 27 GA, 6 wraps, 2.5 mm) and same juice (70%VG/30%PG). Please keep in mind that I am not a professional reviewer and simply sharing my experience.

InuLYpT.jpg

Cleanliness on arrival
Both tanks arrived clean with no smell of oil. Quick rinse and you good to go.
score B:5 KP:5

Fit & finish
Both are excellent, but KP has an edge here, machining and threading on it is flawless.
score B:4 KP:5

Drip tip
Berserker wins, the shape of their drip tip is very comfortable and better than the one on KP
score B:5 KP:4

Juice flow Control
There is none on Berserker. KP has it, might not be the best implementation as you still need to count rotations, but does the job well.
score B:0 KP:4

Air flow control
AFC ring on Berserker is under engineered, it’s loose and can be easily knocked off into a different position. KP implementation is much better, but over engineered and stiff.
score B:2 KP:4

Top fill
Berserker - gurgling and sometimes flooding, Kayfun, as expected (due to JFC), zero issues. I have to mention that bottom fill addresses gurgling/flooding with Berserker
score B:1 KP:5

Ease of re-building
Both are excellent, easy to re-build without draining the tank
score B:5, KP:5

Flavour
Both produce excellent flavour

Draw
Both are MTL tanks. At the smallest setting B is tighter, at the largest KP is a more open which may have appeal to a broader audience. At the middle settings they are almost identical, yet KP seems a bit more airy. Both are very quiet, produce smooth draw with no turbulence.

Aesthetics (no score)
This is very subjective but I prefer the cleaner look of KP with no visible gaskets/o-rings.

Cost (no score)