well it happened_ alarm rang a hole in my heart

Status
Not open for further replies.

virm

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Oct 27, 2019
i have no idea how it even computed that was what the sound was_ i've been sitting for the last 5 minutes waiting to hear sirens coming from the fire station down the street; no idea if smoke detectors in Germany have an auto-call or will warn my landlord (he has presence detectors for some parts of the house which send him notifications, either by phone or email)

i've been vaping inside the studio for 4 months now, why now? this wasn't even the heaviest day, nor the closest i've vaped to the loud ........ [i've talked abt this before and know it happens random, sometimes just from MTL, just rant... venting really]

the first one to say relax... have a vape am-na bite'em in the nose!

should, i be doing something other than turning it off and airing the room out?

Eskie

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 6, 2016
NY
Maybe crack a window when you’re vaping so you don’t fog up the room? It happens. If it’s one of the newer detectors they have a photoelectric cell that’s more sensitive to vapor than the old ionization chamber detectors. Even a steamy shower can set them off if the door to the bathroom is open and the detector is in the vicinity.

I would not take the battery out. The detector is there to save your life if there’s a fire. Besides, it may be hard wired with the battery for backup if the power goes out. I’m assuming this came with the studio you’re renting or bought as if you installed it you’d know what’s up. As it’s a once in the last 4 months, I wouldn’t sweat it. I’ve set them off cooking, and simply press the reset button and wave the smoke away from it.

virm

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Oct 27, 2019