FDA What about non-nicotine containing juices/products?

Status
Not open for further replies.

akwit

Oct 15, 2014
Forgive me for any ignorance I might display here as I am new to this space:

What about the disposable products and the juices (and I believe there are quite a few juices) that don't contain any nicotine?

Are they lumped in under the PMTA requirements and if so, do you think the FDA might ultimately be a bit more lenient with them?

Although not as desirable as nicotine containing products, some people just want something to puff on, that just has a nice flavor (like myself).

Verb

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 26, 2014
Eastern, PA, USA
Nicotine free Liquid can be considered a tobacco product if the FDA determines it is reasonable to believe the product will be mixed with nicotine by the end users. It the FDA approves the product through a PMTA (they won't), the product will have to be labelled "this product is made from tobacco."

Going after these products opens a judicial nightmare. Particularly if the manufacturing company is completely divorced from nicotine or tobacco products.

If the product is not labelled ejuice or eliquid, is not sold at a location that sells nicotine products or nicotine vaping equipment, and the manufacturer does not make anything containing nicotine, the product should be in the clear.

Still, there is uncertainty. Unfortunately, the Chicago tax which exempts nicotine free eliquid was a set up to create the data set showing all zero nicotine eLiquid is sold for nicotine to be added. And from what I read of the Vape shops in Chi-town, the data confirms the hypothesis.

Last edited:

akwit

Oct 15, 2014
Nicotine free Liquid can be considered a tobacco product if the FDA determines it is reasonable to believe the product will be mixed with nicotine by the end users. It the FDA approves the product through a PMTA (they won't), the product will have to be labelled "this product is made from tobacco."