The costs of running this huge site are paid for by ads. Please consider registering and becoming a Supporting Member for an ad-free experience. Thanks, ECF team.

What kind of multi meter to buy and where to buy it?

Discussion in 'E-Cigarette Accessories Discussion' started by Dana A, Apr 27, 2012.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Image has been removed.
URL has been removed.
Email address has been removed.
Media has been removed.
  1. Dana A

Dana A Ultra Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

Feb 25, 2012
    Iowa
    I need to buy a multi meter. I need it to do the things on this list below

1. Be user friendly because I have never used one before

2. Be able to test PVs under load

3. Be able to test my batteries coming off the charger

4. Be affordable because I just spent 300 bucks on vape stuff tonight.

5. Be able to test ohms of Cartos/Attys

Thanks for all the help:)

2. dogbertusceasar

dogbertusceasar Senior Member ECF Veteran

Mar 15, 2010
    Chicago, IL
    Radio Shack has items to fit the bill (of course it will require a little tinkering to measure voltage "under load"), but they are a bit pricey.
    Some hardware stores carry them too like Home Depot, Menards, etc.

Good Luck!

3. Thompson

Thompson Ultra Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

Apr 14, 2012
    North of NorCal
    A multimeter by itself won't be able to test a device under load without some form of adapter. They will do 3-5 though. I found one such adapter on EmpireMods. I'm sure there are cheaper ones around, but I've not looked hard enough to find them.

The Shadow Tester

I've seen some digital multimeters listed on vendors for $9.99. Clouds of Vapor and MadVapes look to have the same one, but I think Clouds is out (its actually seems to have been removed entirely).

Digital Multimeter

Any standard digital multimeter you get at Radioshack would work.

4. Dana A

Feb 25, 2012
    Iowa