What the hell is up with Kanger's "flavor wicks"?

Status
Not open for further replies.

7sixtwo

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 5, 2013
the hinterlands
I'm still fairly new to vaping.

I'm lucky in that I'm quite satisfied with the first mod and toppers I bought, (Tesla, Evod, Protank II), and use em all daily, so I don't feel like I've wasted any money on something that ended up in the drawer, unused.

Anyway, I've always felt like the Evod and Protank II worked well enough, but the flavors seemed a bit muted and if I turned up the wattage over 10 on a ~2.8 ohm head, I'd get the ol "burny taste", despite what I'd read about how variable wattage was supposed to work. I'd also have to wait a few sec between hits, even on lower wattage, to avoid that.

So, I finally decided to take an Evod head apart and take off the "extra" wicks that Kanger stacks on top of the wick that actually has the coil wrapped around it.

I put it back together, filled it up with some Nicoticket, (my favorite brand), juice, (Or3o, to start with), and took a vape. Man, what a difference! The flavor's better, I can dial the wattage up as much as I want, and chain vape away, with no "cool down", without it tasting burnt. I've got the Tesla set on 13 W right now, and am getting the best vaping experience I've had since I started. :vapor:

So.. what the hell is the point of Kanger's "flavor wicks"? They seem to degrade performance in every way. Just a design flaw.. or perhaps a misunderstanding as to how we {MODERATED} vape?

What do y'all think?

Last edited by a moderator:

7sixtwo

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 5, 2013
the hinterlands
Not sure, haven't heard of that problem before. Just remember a lot of these mods and devices are coming out as fast of the manufacture can make them to stay one step ahead of the competition, there for it stands to reason a few ideas that weren't that great made it into production one way or another.