what to hope for? siren vs nautilus

Status
Not open for further replies.

iamreallynotarobot

Sep 1, 2018
hi everyone.
many apologies if this should be a double posting. i just signed up here & think i may have posted the below in the wrong place before, so here goes again:

i am quite new to the whole rta build your own coil & wick it properly world, so i realize there is plenty of room for error. but i have a general question i hope someone may be able to answer.
this past year i have been quite happily vaping on a nautilus 2. i am looking for mtl only, as close a proximation to cigarettes as possible, and have been almost exclusively using the black note liquids, which are pricy but without real competition in terms of flavor imo (from what i have tried up to this point at least). so this was a setup i really liked, except for the fact that the bvc coils were only really useable for a couple of days (4 max), and this was both pricy and annoying. so i decided to try out building my own coils & invested in a siren v2 after some brief research. and now, in terms of taste, i am a bit underwhelmed. flavor seems good to ok for maybe the first 40 drags or so, but then quickly dissipates and becomes very muted. again, i realize that the correct building is a very important element of all this and i am probably not quite there yet. i have researched this of course and will continue to do so. right now i am using stainless steel wire & cotton bacon, have tried coils in the 0.8 - 1.4 range, both spaced & contact. while i would appreciate someones advice what kind of coil / wick combo seems to work the best for them in a siren, the question i am finally getting to is this:
provided i find the right build, can i expect to have as good a flavor experience in a siren 2 as i did in my nautilus? can this last longer than the 1st 40 pulls? or is taste the tradeoff for the saved costs & "fun" of creating your own coils?
thanks a lot in advance!

Reactions: stols001

djsvapour