What's the (continuing) attraction of mechanical mods?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBloke

Ultra Member
Verified Member
Mar 30, 2015
Brighton, UK
Hey guys,

I'm quite new to vaping, 6 weeks in. I started vaping shortly after the big explosion of new products that I understand happened around Christmas/New Year 2014/2015 - launch of all the sub ohm tanks, plus loads of mods: the DNA 40s, new iSticks and iTastes, Kanger 40W, etc. And I gather the rest of 2014 saw a lot of mod releases as well.

So it's clear that vapers are now incredibly well catered for with products, and it's getting better all the time; it's also clear, even to a newbie like me, that that wasn't the case even just a year ago.

My point is that I can totally understand why mechanical mods used to be a big thing - basically any time before 2014, I would assume that mech mods were the majority of what was available. And even the name 'mod' comes from those early periods, doesn't it? The idea of people "modding" their own kit together, and maybe selling it in small quantities.

What I can't really understand is why anyone would still want to use mech mods in 2015? Well, I can see one reason - they usually look really cool! Much more stylish than most VV/VW mods.

But apart from that, it seems like it's all downsides? They're much less safe. A short could ruin your battery and maybe the whole mod. You can only vape at whatever voltage your battery currently delivers, and that varies throughout your vaping time unless you have endless supplies of freshly charged ones. You have to buy and maintain batteries separately (OK that's true of many VW mods too, but also many not, especially the newer ones.) And so on.

Please note I'm really not intending to start any kind of argument here between mech and VWs! :) I'm just genuinely interested to understand what reasons someone might have for still using mech mods, when probably everyone who owns a mech also has one or several VW mods?