Which adapter for a Vamo V2 to protect threads?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hilly2k2

Feb 10, 2013
North Cackalaka
Hey all,

After long last, my SS Vamo V2 finally arrived from Mars....I mean Hong Kong. And so far (only opened the thing up about an hour ago), I'm loving it. Big step up from the Twists and Spinners I've been using for the last 5 months or so.

But in the interest of increasing life expectancy, I think I'm going to go with what seems to be the community consensus and get an adapter to protect the threading on the thing. Already felt like I had to tighten the ProTank more than felt comfortable (did that once and will not be doing so again) and the beauty ring that came with the ProTank (legit, not the FT or any other knockoff) just doesn't work at all.

But I is confused.

So my question to all you fine folks is: which adapter? airflow? 510-510? Something else? And which one specifically (like, from which vendor....and please don't suggest FT...my poor heart can't stand the wait).

I use the ProTank and EVODs like 95% of the time, though there are some lingering T2s and the smaller of the Vivi Novas that get some play now and again. I'd prefer not to have to swap out adapters frequently, as that would defeat the purpose, right?

GaryInTexas

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 20, 2013
NE Texas, USA
I have the air flow adapter that I use on 510 protank but I'm not really impressed with it. The treading on my adapter is pretty sloppy and the tank doesn't fit snugly. The adjustment ring is slick and hard to adjust. I find when using 510 to 510 adapters that the adapter tends to come off with the tank when I unscrew it so that defeats the purpose. On my ego threaded tanks I like to just lightly screw them directly to the Vamo.

donesmokin

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 20, 2011
NE Oregon
I've never really used the adapter for thread protection but rather for more airflow with carto tanks: