Why do my APVs think freshly charged batteries are dead?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Poeia

Bird Brain
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 6, 2009
NYC
Equipment
I'm switching away from tubes and bought three variable voltage box mods, each built by a different person. I also have a couple of 3V box mods.

One VV came with a pair of TrustFire 14500s. I bought another of those plus 2 pairs of EH brand IMRs.

I'm primarily using Vivi Novas, mostly at 2.4Ω, but am having the same problem with standard resistance Joye 510 atomizers.

I have 3 chargers that can handle 14500s -- a TrustFire TR-003 (which can do 4 batteries), an UltraFire WF-139 ("rapid charger" for 2 batteries) and generic charger that I've been using for almost 3 years.

The Problem
All was fine for a couple of weeks but now, when I take my freshly charged batteries off the charger and put them in a VV mod, I get one hit (if I'm lucky), then the mod thinks the battery is drained. I put it back on a charger and the light goes green within a couple of minutes.

It doesn't matter which VV mod I use, which set of batteries, which charger or which atomizer/cartomizer. It happens every time.

I've split up the TrustFire pairs and am using them on the 3.7V box mods and they work fine with the same atomizers/cartomizers that just failed on the VV (regardless of which charger was used.) I also tried the IMRs in the single battery units and they worked too.

Any ideas why it's doing this (other than for the fun of driving me nuts)?

Poeia

Bird Brain
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 6, 2009
NYC
Thanks. The IMRs are doing it just as much as the protected Li-ion batteries so I don't think that's the problem but it's a good idea about the multimeter. I have one, I've been incompetent about using it but I guess I'll have to learn.

By the way, the atomizers and cartomizers all work fine in basic 900mAh eGo batts as well.

WillyB

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Oct 21, 2009
USA