After changing coil burnt taste. Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

joey1212

Feb 28, 2018
Hey there,

So I got my smok Mag Kit a few weeks ago and today decided to change my coil because the old one was tasting a bit burnt. Im new to this so I'm pretty sure I did it right but who knows. I took the top of and put the new coil. The old coil was a .45ohm which I was using at 70 watts. This new one is a .12 which I was using at 80. I put juice on the top and the sides to prime the coil and then let it sit for about 30 minutes. Now whenever I drag its super hard to and it burns my throat and I have no flavor. The tank also gets incredibly hot. Please help, what did I do?

Storm52

Ultra Member
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 27, 2014
Shreveport, LA
Start with obvious. Air flow control open? Without hitting the fire button, can you take a pull/drag easily? Is the coil properly seated and not cross threaded? Dial the wattage down to say 50 watts and go up from there.

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
What do you mean cross threaded? Sorry if its a stupid question.
Cross threaded is when you attempt to screw something into something else, and you inadvertingly screw it in at a slight angle instead of perfectly straight -- that is "cross threaded". Screws, "attachments" and "connectors" have threads, those little rings that go around a post. Male threads must match up with the female threads.

images

There are no stupid questions. Only stupid answers.

Attachments

• upload_2018-2-28_16-42-27.jpeg
    upload_2018-2-28_16-42-27.jpeg
    3 KB · Views: 7
Last edited:

BrotherBob

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Dec 24, 2014
Sunnyvale,CA,USA
Hey there,