Burned/Drys Hits on New Ni200 Coils, Need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoeJr

Dec 18, 2015
Hello vape fam! I'm am searching for a little advice here, in regards to temp control...
I've been vaping for some time now, but I am new to temp control. I read that it pretty much eliminates dry hits, which was my ultimate goal. And it worked for a few weeks.
I'm currently using the Kanger Nebox, with their Ni200 pre-built coils. 80/20 juice. This was working great for me for the first few weeks. Now, I am getting burnt tasting hits that make my throat sore. I prime the coils properly, and I usually do a pre-hit prime by covering the air hole.

I've tried all sorts of watt/temp combos... High temp-low watt, low watt-high temp, high temp-high watt, and low temp-low watt. I'm currently in a stalemate, as none of those work out. There is either a wispy hit, or a burned hit.
This has happened with 3 new coils so far. All three give the burned hit, but all three have clean cotton and the coils look fine to me. Perhaps a little tarnished, but there is no blackness at all, in both the coil and the cotton.
I am at a loss as to what to do now. I've searched and searched, on here, Reddit, and ................... I have found nothing. It seems like this mod is too new or something.
I just bought the Smok X Cube 2 and the TFV4 tank, with the hope that it'll work better than this.

Tl;dr - Burned hits on new coils, with no evidence of a burned hit on the coil.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

JoeJr

Dec 18, 2015
You do set/lock in your base resistance again each time you change the coil? You can't asume it to be correct just because you put a same make coil. At such low resistances the power output difference is considerable with a slight deviation in the base resistance.