how thick should e-liquid be?

Status
Not open for further replies.

QuickyRicky

Jul 3, 2010
im fooling with making some homemade e-liquids. currently im using soem i made and there smoking great. but im a newbie and dont wanna clog my atty. if i rub a drop between my fingers it leaves a oily type feel. but its not 100% vg. in my mixes i use roughly 75% vg and 25% flavor mixed with alcohol. but beeing i have never bought real e-liquid before im not sure what thickness is right. any help would be great ;)

Infernal2

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 26, 2010
The Oil Coast, AL
Most i've found are oily (due to both the PG/VG and the Lorann Oils) but the thickness entirely depended on the content of the e-liquid. Some of the higher VG content e-liquids I've used were a little thinner than dawn soap. The lower content were as thick as say, hydraulic fluid, and the high PG content was very thin, like hot or warm WD40.

Can you tell I do alot of manual labor? ;)

QuickyRicky

Jul 3, 2010
yes lol. but i cant tell if mine is right. to make it as basic as possible, lets just say i use 75% VG with 25% water. is that about right, more or less? NONE of my mixes use more then 75% VG. is that good? to much? to little? i dont want exact numbers. just wanna know where is about right. a good way to respond would be. just using vg and water. so if u say add 3ml of vg and 1ml of water that would be a 75/25 mix. which is what im doing. i just wanna know how much VG should be in there, since its what is thickening it up. but i also dont want it to thin, iv heard horror stories of e liquid when its to thin.

Last edited:
There is no "right" thickness. I used 100% VG when i started and it was real thick. 100%PG is watery. I now use a 50/50 mix. Even at 100% vg, i never clogged an atty to where it wouldnt work. Once I went to cartos, i switched to the 50/50 for ease of filling the carto.

Your 75/25 mix will be fine.

zoiDman

My -0^10 = Nothing at All*
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran