Mech mod question

Status
Not open for further replies.

cjboboy

Apr 17, 2013
San Diego
Hey guys, I'm fairly new to vaping and Im getting the hang of it and enjoying it. I started with blu, but it got pretty expensive since I was vaping a carto almost every day. Got a provari last month and a Vamo coming. Now I stubled upon mech mods and the ones from the phillipines looks very nice. I have families over there that can get them to me at a local price. My question is, what is the advantage of a mech mod over a mod like a vamo or provari. I noticed that experience vapers likes them better with their rebuildables. I did my research and found that mech mods can only get you 3.7 volts. is that strong enough for any rba . Thanks guys. This place is great

Chadshaw

Verified Member
Feb 16, 2011
Virginia
That's the great part about an RBA, you can build the coil as low a resistance as you like, therefore your vape is as cool or hot as you choose (once you find the sweetspot). The biggest advantage to a mechanical in my opinion is its easy to fix with easy, cheap parts, no circuit boards to fail or fry. You can even yank the battery and run em under water to clean.

Iusedtoanalog

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 17, 2011
Pennsylvania
Hi Cj, The benefit if a mech is that you have no limits on amperage draw, other than the batteries limit. This allows you to build almost any Ω coil on a rebuildable to achieve outputs far beyond those capable on a regulated mod.

As an example. A mech mod with 3.7v of output, with a high quality battery can supply 10+amperes of current , allowing coil resistances under .5Ω...... so with the correct build coil of say .4Ω and 3.7v of output a mech could produce ~34 watts of output.......

Most mod chips are limited to around 4amperes of output so this level of wattage is unattainable with them. There are some chips that are limited to 6 and fewer that are limited to 10 but those are not available in an off the shelf mod.