Quitting Vaping

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caro123

Apr 11, 2015
Nova Scotia
my theory, many many years ago I was prone to panic attacks (created by at least one component - faulty breathing techniques) I wonder if by vaping or smoking for that matter one regulates the breath in some manner- just a thought

I also am pretty certain that having "something" to reach for would be a biggie for me - perhaps the reason so many gain weight when quitting smoking cold turkey so to speak

I do hope if YOU feel the need to give up vaping that you keep a nice little set handy in case you get a "smoke" urge

NealBJr

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Jul 27, 2013
Lawrenceville, Ga.
Badditude again posted what I was about to say... I am no doctor, but I have done tonnes of research on Nicotine and smoking. How smoking addiction works, and what happens. So, take this info from a non-expert.

Nicotine affects the dopamine receptors in your brain. It was intensified by other chemicals in a cigarette. When you switched to Ecigarettes, it still triggered the dopamine receptors from the nicotine, but got rid of a lot of other garbage that went with the regular cigarettes.

You gradually weened yourself off of the NIcotine.. but.. the dopamine receptors have made permanent connections. This is why there are so many relapses from people who have quit cigarettes, and why stressful situations cause relapses. You have the addiction to inhaling a substance, and the physical aspect of smoking. Vaping fills most of those gaps, since it is used in a similar method to smoking. It is also why it is a more effective means to stop the cigarettes.