Rebuilding Heads

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kayduh

May 11, 2013
CA
Hey everyone!

Im still fairly new to vaping, current setup is a 650 ego c twist, with a kanger evod also a few vision vivi nova mini's. I have been buying replacement heads and recently came up on the topic of rebuilding the coils. Now my question to all you professional vapers out there, can you recommend which type of wire / wicks to use for rebuilding? Also would using different combinations of wires / wicks produce different amounts of vapor / amounts of flavor?

Kanj.nguyen

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 18, 2013
Princeton, NJ
I will have to narrow down to "rebuilding evod heads", necause just for rebuilding there are literally hundreds of different wick-wire combinations.

You can start with silica wick and 30awg kanthal. It is perishable, but easy to build if you dont feel comfortable going into too advanced stuff.

If you feel up to the challenge, check out the video i just made for rebuilding the Protank heads (which is interchangeable with evod heads). Link in my signature.

Eric1217

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 15, 2013
Long Beach, CA, USA
Rebuilding heads is easy after like a few tries you can rebuild one with your eyes close, the problem I have is that the way you describer your setup you lack the equipment to test your build safely nad that really concern me. In regards to wick and wire I usually build mine using 1.5 or 2 mm wick and use 32 gauge kanthal wire to scale up the resistance to at least 1.5 ohms for vv mods to work on it. Flavor and vapor greatly depends on how you build your coil rather than the wick or the wire itself.

Hope this helps and please be safe.

MistaKuraudo

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 13, 2013
WA State