Variable Wattage, Variable Whattage?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bonnie B

Mar 11, 2013
Cincinnati, Ohio
I've been vaping for a few months now and lately I've been thinking about upgrading. I've been using egos & ego twists. Tonight I stopped by my local vape shop to pick up some juice & ended buying a Vamo, which is VV/VW. I have some knowledge about VV but no experience with variable wattage. The Vamo can go from 3-15 watts in .5 increments. I have a few questions: What's the purpose/benefits of VW? When and why should I adjust the wattage? Do different tanks/cartos/clearomizers need wattage adjustments, or is there a certain wattage that would work well for everything? I would appreciate some advice.

Myrany

Vaping Master
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 14, 2013
Louisiana
I just got my vamo today (YAY for vapemail).

As I understand it once you find your sweet spot in wattage the vamo will automatically set its voltage to get you as close as it can to that wattage no matter WHAT you screw on it.

For someone that doesn't like to fiddle with it like me it is great.

Draconian

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 13, 2013
San Antonio
Pretty simple, and the VAMO (I have a couple) was a great choice. The advantage of variable wattage is that it is pretty much set and forget - if you set it for say, 8 watts - ANY device - regardless of resistance - should give the same vape. Variable wattage is a lot less fiddly - 1.2 ohms - 2.5 ohms - whatever - it will adjust itself to the resistance and provide the same power.
Generally - on the VAMO - set it between 7 and 9 watts - and it will give a great vape.

jangeisler

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 10, 2013
Denmark
+1 to the previous posts.

As an explanation; when you find your "sweet spot" voltage on a vv, you can calculate the wattage (volt x volt / ohms).

The wattage is the power actually delivered, and increases if you increase the volts and/or decrease the ohms, and vice versa.