Status
Not open for further replies.

LifeMeansChange

Nov 1, 2012
Maryland
So I'm extremely new to the vaping community but I am one to do plenty of research when I make a decision. In my hunt for information I found that a lot of people feel that the VG has less "variables" and may be better for you than PG. Not to mention the increased amount of vapor. But there also seems to be quite a bit of discussion about the side effects (mainly large amounts of phlegm in the lungs) from vaping 100% VG. But I've created a hypothesis that I believe to be the culprit here and I thought I'd share :).

So before I started vaping I'd had some prior experience with vegetable glycerin in (don't freak out!) my hair care regimen. I stopped using it though because glycerin is a humectant which draws moisture from a moist place to a dry place. So with hair that may mean that moisture is being drawn from your hair out into the air... or vice versa but it depends on which part is more dry. Stay with me! I do have a point :oops:.

So in finding out how mucus is created in the body I discovered mucus begins in the nasal passage. And a dry environment dries out the mucus in the nasal passage making it thick and difficult to flush out. That causes the mucus or "phlegm" to build up and eventually make it's way down to your lungs where it's then coughed up. This happens naturally if maybe you live in an area where the air is dry. The air everywhere gets dry in the winter months and can cause some people to produce more phlegm simply because it's cold outside.