Why do sub ohm take so much voltage?

Status
Not open for further replies.

punkoz

Dec 15, 2014
Hello vapers! first! I'm a noob at this stuff because I just buy my tank and use it with the coils it comes with and second, my english isnt that good but I can understand it perfectly fine.

Anyway, Ive been searching everywhere but I couldnt find a solid answer to my question.
Im using an Aerotank Giant right now with a 1.8 ohm coil, if I put a 1.2 ohm I would have to use less voltage because I get a burnt taste and the coil burns pretty quick, Im about to order a Sub ohm tank soon and I'll use the stock coils, the one im getting is the Kangertech SubOhm tank.
Why do subohm coils use more voltage when normal coils use less?

I mean, Ive seen people do things like 0.2 ohm coil @ 100W + If I did anything over 3.5V on my 1.2 ohm coil itd burn instantly... SubOhm takes more voltage the lower you go and normal dual coils take less voltage the lower you go!

1.9 Ohm Dual coil = 3.7-3.8V for me
0.5 ohm OOC subtank sub ohm coil = 12-30W?!

Thanks in advance for taking the time to reply to this post and your patience!

Cheers!

Edit: by the way, Im planning to use my subtank with a 50/50 PG/VG 16mg nicotine, Is that ok?

Last edited:

KenD

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Aug 20, 2013
Stockholm, Sweden
kennetgranholm.com
Lower resistance, whether it be dual or single coil, will require less voltage to reach the same wattage. However, with a vw mod resistance doesn't factor into the amp draw or battery drain. So, at e.g. 50w a 1.8 ohm coil will need 9.5v and a .5 ohm coil will need 5v, but the amp draw (which determines the battery drain) with a 90% efficient circuitry will be 13.2 amps (on a fully charged battery, when the battery charge drops the amp draw increases - that's opposite to how an unregulated mod functions).

Joseph Swint

ECF Veteran
Dec 20, 2014
Canton, Ohio