How would you find out how many wraps/size of kanthal you would need to get a specific resistance?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AndrewxW_

Oct 15, 2016
Hey,

probably a dumb question

I'm just learning the basics of coil building resistance in dual coil builds and how to get a specific resistance.

How would you find out how many wraps/size of kanthal you would need to get a specific resistance? like if you wanted to build a dual coil 0.5ohm build, how would you know how much kanthal is needed and how many coil wraps are needed? I tried using the Coil Wrapping calculator by Steam Engine but I some parts confuse me.

(I have learnt everything in mechanical mods, sub-ohming, coil building, battery safety.etc but I just don't get this
I ask of you kindly to not criticise me, as I'm just learning.

Last edited:

somdcomputerguy

vaper dedicato
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Contest Winner!
    I (and I know many others here as well) use this online tool - Steam Engine main page - The 'coil-wrapping' and 'wire wizard' tools are what you're looking for, but there are several tools there that you might find useful.

Reactions: Mowgli

AndrewxW_

Oct 15, 2016
    wait I think I know how to use the coil wrapping calculator now, correct me if I'm wrong.

So if I am building a 0.5ohm dual coil with 26 gauge kanthal, I write the infomation down and get the results on the right-hand side of the page.

-"Resistance wire length" means how long the kanthal has to be
    -"Number of wraps" are the number of times I have to coil it around the rod, but why does it say 12.62? How do I wrap it 12.62 times if I wanted the exact target resistance?

Also, why is the heat flux blue? it means the vape coming out will be cool right? but why? I thought sub-ohm builds were supposed to be hotter vape?

(Sorry if I sound really stupid and pointing out obvious facts)

I think I get it now.PNG

Mowgli

Runs with scissors
    ECF Veteran
    Verified Member
    Mar 25, 2013
    Taxachusetts