New here and have a Battery question

Status
Not open for further replies.

jayrod0221

Aug 16, 2017
I recently purchased a smok AL85 with a TFV8 Baby Beast tank. Im wondering what battery would work best for it. The only mod ive used had a built in battery, so im new to the 18650's. I bought 0.15 coils for it and plan on pushing about 40-50 watts. I just want to make sure the battery I buy can handle the wattage. I already bought a battery when I purchased the mod and tank. I bought a LG HG2 which is 3000mAh and 20A. If I did the calculations correct, it said id be pushing 28A with 0.15 coil and that battery. I don't know if that is accurate or not. I just want to make sure im using the correct battery for my mod, or if I need to buy different ohm coils to go with that battery. Thanks!

Reactions: Letitia

Cf11

ECF Veteran
Apr 22, 2017
Welcome to ecf.
These three are the best 18650 batteries
1. Samsung 30q
2. Sony Vtc6
3. Lg Hg2

Choose any of these and you're good to go. :)
Also with any of these 3 choices and a good regulated mod like the al85. You don't need to do any sort of calculations. Vape however you like. The mod will cut you off if you're doing something you shouldn't.

Mike McVape

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Welcome to the forum. I was confused at first too but resistant doesn't matter with regulated mod. I=W/V so 50W/3V(Smok V cuttoff)=16.7A. 60W would be 20A when battery getting low so about the max you'd want to go single 18650 those batteries.

Topwater Elvis

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Dec 26, 2012
Texas
You don't have to but it is best to understand the amount of amps being demanded from the battery by the 'chip' to select an appropriate cell.
---> Calculating battery current draw for a regulated mod | E-Cigarette Forum

Putting all your faith / relying on safety features of cheap mass produced electronics with poor QC isn't really all that safe, depending on how you define safe.