Provari V2.5 with vents on the cap

Discussion in 'ProVape' started by Rendier, Apr 26, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Image has been removed.
URL has been removed.
Email address has been removed.
Media has been removed.
  1. Rendier

    Rendier Full Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    South Africa
    Hi everyone,

    It seems Provape has done something new with their Provari's. I received my Provari V2.5 a month ago and the tank I use is the Kanger Pro Tank 2. Alot of people are saying that these aren't 100% compatible for the simple reason that it will gurgle and spit due to the air vents not being enough on the Provari. This however hasn't been the case with my Provari I received. My Provari has vents on the cap and this seems to have sorted out any gurgle and spitting issues with my Pro Tank 2. The Pro Tank 2 sits tight on my Provari and there is no need to loosen it a bit for airflow. It draws better than a cigarette with more vape :)

    I can say though that the release of these vented Provari's aren't consistent because I ordered another Provari for my fiance after my one and it doesn't have the vents like mine, her one is definitely struggling with gurgle and spit as she has the Pro Tank 2 and no vents like mine on her Provari. She has to loosen the tank a bit to get good airflow. I have taken her Tank and put it on mine and visa versa and it never spits with me but does with her.

    Any thoughts on this and have you seen the vented Provari cap?

    Below is an image of the difference.

    IMG_1334.jpg

    IMG_1335.jpg
     
  2. Baditude

    Baditude ECF Guru ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Location:
    Ridgeway, Ohio
    This is a new design seen within the last couple of weeks.

    I've saw in my local vape shop, a married couple, who got new Provari's within a days time of each other. The husband's mini didn't have the new vented top, while the wife's standard did have the new top.
     
  3. SoberSnyper

    SoberSnyper Senior Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Location:
    Maurice, La.
    I'm sure Provape is exhausting existing supplies before the Provaris with the new slotted top caps are released. It probably depends on what color you order.
     
  4. Rendier

    Rendier Full Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    South Africa
    Thanks for the feedback guys, my next question will then be why would they give a Provari starter pack that includes the Pro Tank 2 when they know it's not 100% compatible? I have three Pro Tank 2's and also many atomizers and wasted opening a brand new sealed Pro Tank 2 and 2 atomizers on trying to fix the issue when I realized the caps looked different.
     
  5. p.opus

    p.opus Ultra Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Location:
    Coral Springs FL
    I don't have airflow issues with my Protank, but enough people did, I suppose. So they took feedback and incorporated a new design.

    For your wife, I suggest the ProVape ring for 10 bucks.

    ProVari Tank Ring

    It won't taper as nice with the protank, but the groves provide adequate airflow and you should be able to vape your ProTank2 with no issues.

    Others buy the aerotank base from kanger tech and use it on their protanks as well.
     
  6. Rendier

    Rendier Full Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    South Africa
    Thanks P.opus, I ordered the Aerotank yesterday already, just seems so unnecessary to add extra weight and length to it. I'm pondering if I shouldn't request a return and a new Provari considering I ordered another one because I loved my one (new design). I have to be honest though, if I received the one she did and had as many gurgle and spitting problems I would have sold it and kept on with the cigs. Thank God people actually do research and don't simply move back to smokes.
     
  7. TFL!

    TFL! Super Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Location:
    Chatfield, MN, USA
    The aerotank base from kanger tech is the way to go. I Have them on 5 of my pro-tanks both 1 and 2
     
  8. Train2

    Train2 Vaping Master Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Location:
    CA, USA
    The top cap change is new.
    I'd be bummed too if I got one with the vents, ordered another and it came without vents....
    You may want to email ProVape, explain the problem, and ask if they'd change the top cap for you. It would probably cost $5 one way shipping, but my guess is they'd agree to do it.

    Alternatively, the Aerotank base for $5 is VERY useful if you're going to use ProTanks ANYWAY.

    The trouble with ProTanks and ProVariiii is that the ProTank is INCONSISTENT. I have about 4 or 5 that work fine, and 1 that doesn't. It's got to do with the length of the 510 threading, and the location IN that threading of the airhole. I think ProVape chose it, knowing it wasn't perfect, but also knowing it was a VERY popular topper that people would usually be happy with. It'd be nice if they had their own ProVape quality clearo - but they just don't.
     
  9. ENAUD

    ENAUD Ultra Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Location:
    Bordertown of ProVariland and REOville
    I have been messing with Protank II's for months now, another recommendation for the Aerobase here. It makes a world of difference with them, that and re-wicking with cotton once the silica is gunked up. My PT II's are happily cranking out tons of vapor on my new Provari :D
     
  10. PLANofMAN

    PLANofMAN Signature Guru Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Location:
    Woodburn, OR
    ProVape needs to make their own ProFun (Kayfun variant) with a Z-Atty Pro style base. All stainless and glass for $99.
    ...or a camping bar. I'd take that too.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. bosun

    bosun Super Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Location:
    in between the ice ages
    I bought one ProTank 2. Problems as others have noted. I fiddled with it ($25.00 for something that didn't work well). Bought a replacement base. Still unimpressive. I was thinking about Dremelling some additional grooves in my Provaris just to run this tank, then realized why bother? Protank went into the emergency/give away box!
     
  12. Rendier

    Rendier Full Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    South Africa
    Thanks to all for the feedback. Aerotank ordered, still haven't heard back from Provape Support.

    Thanks
     
  13. Chowderhead1972

    Chowderhead1972 Registered Supplier - Offline ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Location:
    Clarksburg, Maryland, United States
     
  14. Arch

    Arch Super Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    Well, I'm sure this is helpful for the Cartotank/Clearomizer users that have airflow on the 510 connection. Now that I'm using RDA's I don't have to feel bad that mine doesn't have them! Whew.
     
  15. ls2erin

    ls2erin Full Member Verified Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Location:
    Chicago
    I know I haven't been on here in a while... but I couldn't believe my eyes when I got my mom's mother's day present in the mail today (which is a Provari, her first... shhhh) and saw it had a slotted top cap. I want that! Do you think Provape would switch the top cap of a slightly older one to the vented one, if there's nothing wrong with it? I am considering asking them if they would and how much that would cost ($15.00?).
     
  16. Train2

    Train2 Vaping Master Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Location:
    CA, USA
    I'd definitely email and ask - I'll bet there's a fairly reasonable price for it, as there is for most repairs...

     
  17. ls2erin

    ls2erin Full Member Verified Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Location:
    Chicago
    I sent an email to Provape about it and I am waiting for a reply. I will let you know what they say.
     
  18. ENAUD

    ENAUD Ultra Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Location:
    Bordertown of ProVariland and REOville
    I have had the thought to just cut some groves into my brandy new Provari ( two weeks old) that came without them...
     
  19. serenity21899

    serenity21899 Vaping Master Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Supporting member
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location:
    Antioch IL
    Before I ordered the metallic green ProVari, I emailed ProVape and asked if I would be getting the new topcap. I was told that only clearance items have the old version.
     
  20. Tinkiegrrl

    Tinkiegrrl Ultra Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Location:
    New York, NY
    I have the old top cap, because I had to have the pink one. Anything else puts it at risk in this house. My hubby is a known vape gear thief. If it's better then his vape, he claims it. So, grooves or no grooves, for my first Provari purchase, it had to be as girly as possible. After, he can take whatever he likes.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page