Setting resistance for consistant temp control

Status
Not open for further replies.

sofarsogood

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Oct 12, 2014
I've been using temp control exclusiively since the summer of 2015. I'm looking to make TC more consistant from one build to the next. Currently I'm building 1.4 ohm 30 guage stainless builds on a single coil rda.

To set resistance I compare the resistance reading of the build on a stand alone ohm meter and what the mod reads to see if they agree (usually they disagree by .03-.05 ohms). Usually I set and lock the resistance at the higher of the two readings and do a cotton singe test. I want the cotton to singe ever so slightly at 420 F and not below that temp. I'm adjusting resistance until the cotton test behaves as i want. (Arctic Fox firmware allows me to dial in any resistance value for a given profile and lock it.) It's not clear to me why I should leave resistance unlocked so it can wonder and why not set it so there is always a constant result? This is a fresh experiment. I rewick every couple of days. I'll do cotton burn tests on those occaisions to see if the locked resistance is still singeing the cotton at 420.

Probably there are people here with more experience working with this. Is there a flaw in my approach?

Eskie

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 6, 2016
NY
With your Pico locking the resistance is probably fine so long as you don't go through major ambient temp changes, like walking outside from room temp into an arctic blizzard, as that will obviously effect the "cold", or resting resistance, of the wire. Other types of boards such as dna boards work better without a resistance lock as it keeps refining the resting resistance over time.