A Volts Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Worley

Jun 6, 2016
Hi Guys,

I've been vaping for a little over a month, I'm completely new to the world of batteries, ohm's law etc, I've been finding answers to most of my questions online, but not all, I hope someone can help.

Is it safe to use a voltage higher than the charged voltage of the battery? How is that (is that) even possible?

My battery is currently charged at 3.8v. My device is set to 50watts, it fires at around 4.4v.

I don't really understand how that works. How can a battery's (device's) output voltage be more than the voltage of the battery? Should I be adjusting the wattage as the battery's charge drops while vaping?

I am just concerned with battery safety I feel like there is so much to know.

The device I'm using is the Aspire Plato, with the battery it came with, a 2500mAh 20a/40a.

rice721

1.21 GigaWatts!
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 26, 2016
Shanghai
assuming you're only dealing with regulated mods, you can familiarize yourself with watts law (instead of ohms, since resistance plays no part in how much power is going into the coils on a regulated device).

Amperage required (CDR) = Wattage level on your device / the voltage range of your battery (which is 4.2V at full charge to 3.2V at soft cut).

So say you have a 20A CDR battery and you're vaping it at 50W on a single 18650 device and you want to know if its safe.

A = 50W / 3.2V (soft-cutoff) = 15.6A but you also have to factor in the fact that not all regulated mods are 100% efficient. Assuming 90% efficiency, 15.6A/.9 = ~17 to 18A, so you're 20A is within the limits.

My approach to this, since I mainly use 20A CDR batteries is to not exceed 60W per battery.

Reactions: Worley

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
Is it safe to use a voltage higher than the charged voltage of the battery? How is that (is that) even possible?