Another newcomer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kazuko

May 17, 2018
France
Hi,

I'm quite new to vaping, I bought my first (and only, for now) kit almost two months ago, didn't smoke any "stinky" since then (I used to smoke roughly a pack a day, been this way for 6 years).

I'm quite curious and like to document myself, experiment a bit, and in my chase for knowledge I stumbled on lots of good posts on this forum, so here I am!

I'm not much of a cloud chaser (even though I do enjoy a fat cloud, I'm not gonna lie), the primary reason why I switched to vaping is the breath and health issues that smoking caused.

I'm still not ready to step in the reconstructible world, I'm quite happy with my Eleaf iStick Melo kit.
I've mainly used the default 0.3ohm Kanthal coils, until yesterday, I mounted my first SS316 (Eleaf ECL 0.18ohm) coil. And... It's kinda disturbing.

I read a lot about these wires, but most of (actually all of) what I've read was written for reconstructible coils, and my first impressions with this stock coil differs from what I expected.

I'm not sure whether it's the wire, or the number of coils inside the atty (Kanthal EC2 are single coil, this SS316 ECL is dual coil), but I'm kinda disappointed.
The vape feels cooler, but somewhat harsher on the throat. The ramp up is also much slower than with Kanthal, and so is the cool down (my clearo gets very hot with the SS coil, the e-juice even has "bubbles" inside the tank, not sure it's a good thing, but I'm not really worried about it either). I do think the vape tastes less metallic though, but it may just be an impression, since I've read a lot of people talk about it :/