Building safety basics

Status
Not open for further replies.

One2iidedcoiin

May 10, 2017
Hey there, im new to the building game but know something about electronics. Im just wondering if there is a purpose to using a multimeter beyond checking the resistance of your coils to ensure that through ohms law (I^2=p/r) the current will not excede the max discharge rating of your batteries, as well as knowing consequently which wattages are safe on variable mods?

Topwater Elvis

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Dec 26, 2012
Texas
If you're using mechanical power devices they can come in handy for a few things more than measuring coil resistance.

If you're using regulated power devices a ohms checker that you can also built, check/measure & test fire comes in a little more handy than a dvom/mm.

Using regulated power devices battery amp demand is calculated differently than when using mechs.
---> Calculating battery current draw for a regulated mod | E-Cigarette Forum

Battery selection & basic battery saftey along with knowing your gear & what you're doing & why would be a first step.

Know the actual CDR of the cells you use, if saftey is a concern always leave headroom, just in case.
---> List of Battery Tests | E-Cigarette Forum

Lessifer

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 5, 2013
Sacramento, California
If you're using mechanical power devices they can come in handy for a few things more than measuring coil resistance.

If you're using regulated power devices a ohms checker that you can also built, check/measure & test fire comes in a little more handy than a dvom/mm.

Using regulated power devices battery amp demand is calculated differently than when using mechs.
---> Calculating battery current draw for a regulated mod | E-Cigarette Forum

Battery selection & basic battery saftey along with knowing your gear & what you're doing & why would be a first step.

Know the actual CDR of the cells you use, if saftey is a concern always leave headroom, just in case.