Status
Not open for further replies.

mamabear15

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 28, 2015
USA
Okay, yes, I'm a rookie!! ROFL
What I'm wondering is basically with the FDA vapocalypse, worst case scenario if they get all the "good" devices off the market...all I have are regulated vw mods, what if they die? Obviously replaceable batteries, etc but if a chip fries? If the wiring goes nuts? All that "what if" stuff - can it be handled on a regulated mod? Or would I be screwed without a mech? I have read a little about like the dna 40 chip, someone mentioned changing the 30 out for the 40...that's what made me start thinking about it...
Also, assuming it can be done, is there a certain type of device better than another for "just in case" ability to fix? Have any of you done this? Or is the question itself just stupid & showing my lack of experience? Lol

Thrasher

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 28, 2012
Madeira beach, Fla
Nothin wrong with the question,

Its really hard to fix these boards as they have such an abundance of micro components that an average repair person couldn't deal with. In many cases when we send something in to be repaired they just replace the board.

Buuuuut

Here's the flip side,
While all these mods are highly specialized for our usage. They are still based on standard electronic parts, circuits and theories.
Can you build a DNA 40 out of parts found online? No
can you build a mod with voltage regulation that will act just like a simple regulated mod? Sure can, the original regulated mods were simple off the shelf parts many modders still use today. And the companies like provari and evolv(DNA) just had the resources to fine tune and specialize them for what we do.

Find the modding subforum and look at the depth of some of the mods being designed and built by some members.