Status
Not open for further replies.

Kavik79

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 25, 2009
Albany, NY
Hello,
I recently purchased a sigelei Variable Voltage kit that came with a 1.6ml rebuildable clearomizer. I don't know the brand, but it's the one seen in this kit here: Sigelei Zmax - Complete Kit

I'm finding that I have to dry burn this on a daily basis to keep the coil clean, and that before I can even get through a ml of the liquid it's been turned from a very light honey color to a dark brown in the tank, right around the same time the coil is getting clogged and I'm getting less vapor out of it

The liquid is the same homemade mix I've been using for a couple years now, pg/vg mix with menthol and vanilla
The coil is 2.4Ohm
RMS & Mean is set to RMS

With a clean coil it's great for me around 7 watts, but this seems to 'cook' the liquid in the tank faster
Still get a decent hit down to around 5.5 watts, but then the coil seems to clog up more often

I'm not sure if this should go in this section or in the Variable Voltage device section....but I'm trying here first because I'm mainly wondering if others have issues with liquid in tanks/clearomizers getting dark and burnt like this, regardless of the unit they're attached to? And is a daily cleaning common with these things?

thanks in advance

Kavik79

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 25, 2009
Albany, NY
Bump.
Nobody else has noticed this happen to their juice?

Here's a pic of what I'm talking about:
Cooked.jpg

Left is when freshly filled.
Right is after using .8ml, topping off with fresh liquid, then using another .8ml
Kept it set low at 5 watts, resistance stayed consistently between 2.4 and 2.5 Ohms

Kavik79

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 25, 2009
Albany, NY
I rinse as best I can, yes.
I didn't the first time and it was immediately noticeable, not the same as this that darkens over time
I supposed I could use a syringe to flush inside the tube a little better,