Hello! Over discharge question

Status
Not open for further replies.

EmaLou

Jun 1, 2019
Hello! I’ve been vaping for about 5 years now, being free from the cigarettes I smoked for 15. I am currently using a voopoo caliber battery, which is a simple design that I like. It’s been working well for me, but I woke up this morning, went to vape, and it will not fire. The only light is blinking 10 times, and the manuel indicates this is for “over discharge protection.” Okay, so if it’s protected from over discharge, does that mean it can still be used since it was protected? Or is it just dead, and this is a safety feature?

EmaLou

Jun 1, 2019
You are a kind gentleman, thank you for answering my question. I thought I fully charged it last night, as I do every night. It was plugged up all night. Upon further investigation it seems the electrical outlet on the wall is not working, and it never charged. I really believed my battery was dead and it had been “over discharged”, a concept of will never fully wrap my brain around! Thank you!

Punk In Drublic

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Aug 28, 2018
Toronto, ON
You are a kind gentleman, thank you for answering my question. I thought I fully charged it last night, as I do every night. It was plugged up all night. Upon further investigation it seems the electrical outlet on the wall is not working, and it never charged. I really believed my battery was dead and it had been “over discharged”, a concept of will never fully wrap my brain around! Thank you!

Welcome to ECF

It is recommended to monitor your charging. Should something happen you can act upon it quickly. If you are sleeping, you may not be aware of any incidents which could be fatal.

When the device is fully charged, unplug it right away. Many devices apply a “Trickle Charge” to try and keep the batteries topped up, this trickle charge can lead to some concerning voltages.