Kanger Subtank Mini frustrations

Status
Not open for further replies.

NoxalNoema

Oct 8, 2017
Hello!
I am pretty new to the world of vaping. I have a iStick 30W and a new Kanger subtank mini. When I bought the subtank, the guy at the store said the included coils should last me over a month altogether. However, my experience has been less than superb. These coils seems to have no lifespan at all! While the first day of a new coil has vaped great, they seem to always burn out and get burnt tasting very rapidly. Yes, I have been careful to prime the coil without flooding it, and let it soak for 10-15 minutes before use. But I haven't had one last longer than two days. Even the prebuilt- RBA coil hasn't performed for very long. I've tried rewicking and installing the second pre-coiled wire included to no avail.

My last coil started making very loud pops (louder than the normal crackle and pop) before tasting like butthole. So I bought a pack of 1.2 ohm OCC coils. My first coil felt like there was no airflow- it was much harder to draw than normal - and the resulting vapor was hardly existent and tasted slightly burnt. And this is only running at the suggested 10W starting point for a 1.2ohm coil for 70VG juice. So I primed another and the airflow is better but its still a wimpy vapor with bad flavor. I've tried cleaning all the parts and filling with fresh juice... still nothing. What is going on here???

Thank you in advance.

Coastal Cowboy

This aggression will not stand, man!
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 13, 2013
Alabama Gulf Coast
www.ibleedcrimsonred.com
Never try to measure coil life by time elapsed since first puff. Measure it instead by the amount of liquid consumed. The Kanger OCC (and SSOCC) heads are usually good for about 30-ish ml of juice that's not overly sweet or dark colored. Some flavors are just awful at gunking up coils, and the more VG there is in the mix, the sooner the coils give out.